DEVELOPING: Legislators decide to sue Governor

Bismarck, N.D. - UPDATE, 10:45 a.m.: The Governor of North Dakota released the following statement regarding legislative management's decision to sue:

“As I’ve stated before, the intent of these vetoes was to protect executive branch authority, preserve the separation of powers and prevent spending of scarce state resources without full legislative review,” Burgum said. “While we don’t believe this lawsuit to be a prudent use of taxpayer dollars, we will respond accordingly to any legal action that attempts to infringe on executive branch authority. In the meantime, we remain squarely focused on reinventing government and being as efficient as possible with taxpayer dollars as we carry out the duties of the executive branch.”

PREVIOUS STORY, 10:13 a.m.:

Members of North Dakota's legislative management have decided to move forward with suing the governor.

This stems from line item vetoes done by Governor Doug Burgum after the close of the legislative session. 

The vote was not unanimous, but they did get the number of votes needed to move forward with a 12-4 decision 

Members of legislative management voting against suing the Governor include, Senator Jerry Klein, R-Fessenden, Senator Erin Oban, D-Bismarck, Senate Majority Leader Rich Wardner, D-Dickinson and Senator Ray Holmberg, R-Grand Forks. 

Members voting in favor include, Senator Kelly Armstrong, R-Dickinson, Senator Joan Heckaman, D-New Rockford, Senator Donald Schaible, R-Mott, Representative Larry Bellew, R-Minot, House Majority Leader Al Carlson, R-Fargo, Representative Bill Devlin, R-Finley, Representative Kathy Hogan, D-Fargo, Representative Mike Lefor, R-Dickinson, Representative Scott Louser, R-Minot, Representative Corey Mock, D-Grand Forks, Representative Jim Schmidt, R-Huff, Representative Jay Seibel, R-Beulah. 


More Stories

Don't Miss

Trending Stories

Latest News

Video Center